- Seattle Mariners pitcher Robbie Ray had a no-hitter going through six-plus innings.
- Unfortunately, it ended after a single up the middle.
- But, the play should have been called an error. That one will sting.
The Seattle Mariners were cruising against the Los Angeles Angels on Friday night. Robbie Ray was brilliant and was one out away from seven no-hit innings.
But, reality set in, and in a brutal way.
Angels catcher Max Stassi stepped up and hit a soft chopper up the middle. Ray reached out for the ball, it hit his glove, but he couldn’t come down with it and Stassi made it to first.
Robbie Ray's no-hitter ended on this play
— FOX Sports: MLB (@MLBONFOX) June 18, 2022
That is a tough way to lose a no-hit bid, and what hurts more is the play should have been called an error.
MLB Fans Are Upset After Robbie Ray Loses No-Hit Bid On What Should Have Been Called An Error
Yeah, this probably should have been an error. Ray jumped up, it bounced off his glove, and the runner was safe. It isn’t hard to argue that point, either.
MLB fans — and Mariners fans, specifically — were upset about the call.
MLB official scoring is atrocious everywhere. Watched a sac bunt-fielder’s choice ruled a base hit last week. 🤦🏻♂️ https://t.co/dVwo3akBJQ
— Daryl Ruiter (@RuiterWrongFAN) June 18, 2022
Robbed @Mariners https://t.co/KDI6aXCcOf
— Shawn LG (@Seahawk512) June 18, 2022
I don't think a "hometown scorer" is a thing. But yeah, that should have been an error. https://t.co/QecxIii9CY
— True to the Trident (@controlthezone) June 18, 2022
Rich Eisen might have had the funniest response to the situation.
Here’s the official scorer in Disneyworld. pic.twitter.com/Yw0qVsBnfw
— Rich Eisen (@richeisen) June 18, 2022
The consensus is that should have been an error. That hurts.
Robbie Ray got screwed that was an error lol
— J (@JDodgersLA) June 18, 2022
Boy, that could easily have been ruled an error on Robbie Ray.
— Jon Weisman (@jonweisman) June 18, 2022
That honestly looks like it should be an error on Robbie Ray.
— Kevin Cao (@K24Cao939) June 18, 2022
To be 100% honest he should have made that play and therefore I think it should be an error and not a base hit. #SeaUsRise #Mariners @Mariners
— Frank Novak (@frankjnovak) June 18, 2022
So @MLB official scores are as bad as the umpires. They called the error Robbie Ray made…a hit. That's a joke
— Dave Wielhouwer (@DaveWielhouwer) June 18, 2022
That might be the absolute worst way to lose a no-hitter.
If there is a silver lining, Ray gave up two hits in the eighth inning but still finished with seven innings and one run in a terrific outing nonetheless.
Unfortunately, the official scorer in Seattle made a huge mistake, and Ray might be replaying that for a long, long time.